Important [April 2024 message]( regarding US consulate services during the Olympic Games.
Important [April 2024 message]( regarding US consulate services during the Olympic Games.
Skip to content Skip to footer

Presidents’ Day 2016


Presidents Day Logo

The American Club of Lyon was proud to host the 2016 Presidents’ Day Cocktail held at the Hotel de Ville of Lyon on the evening of February 4th. The aim of the event was to foster and celebrate Franco-American friendship and honor a U.S. president with strong ties to France.
In 2016 we honored President Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 – 1969) who commanded the Allied forces in the Normandy invasion in World War II and acted as the first Supreme Allied Commander of NATO. In 1943, he received France’s highest military honor, the Legion of Honor (Grand Cross). During his presidency he also created the National Aeronautics and Space Association (NASA), and started the Interstate Highway System that today links American cities to one another.

This prestigious event included:

  • American and French national anthems signed by Marion Loviton, a student from CSI
  • Opening remarks by Karine Dognin-Sauze, the Ajointe au Maire, Meghan Fleming and Agnieszka Morillon, American Club co-Presidents and Clayton Stanger, US Consul of Lyon
  • A cocktail reception catered by Jacques Larfagues
  • Introduction to the raffle by Candice Blanc, director of Réussite et Avenir pour Tous. A raffle to benefit the local charity, Réussite et Avenir pour Tous, which helps underprivileged Lyonnais children. There were 35 prizes generously donated by local Lyon business and we raised 2665€, which was given entirely to the charity!
  • A concert by the local bluegrass group The WindTalkers

Sponsored By:

Gold Partners

Acnis International Reed, Centracchio & Associates, LLC Mylan

Silver Partners

Lyon Bleu International Crédit Mutuel Air Canada HSBC


MRI Relocation

In-Kind Donations

Ville de Lyon CEFAM Starbucks

Past Presidents’ Days

In The Press

Check out an article from 2008 about Presidents’ Day in The Connexion.

Here’s an article from the March, 2006 edition of Le Progrés about Presidents’ Day.

In 2005, Capital published a full page of photos from that year’s Presidents’ Day event.

Le Progrés also covered Presidents’ Day in 2005.

And here’s one more article from Le Progrés about Presidents’ Day in 2004.

Previous Honorees

2011 Ronald Reagan

2009 Franklin D. Roosevelt, John F. Kennedy and Barack Obama

2008 Calvin Coolidge

2007 Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis

2006 Theodore Roosevelt

2005 Woodrow Wilson

2004 Thomas Jefferson

2002 James Madison

2001 Abraham Lincoln

2000 John F. Kennedy